Mayor Nominates BSA, Landmarks Commissioners


Mayor Bill de Blasio has nominated Margery Perlmutter as commissioner of the Board of Standards and Appeals. Adi Shamir Baron and John Gustafsson were also nominated as commissioners of the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

The nominations have been submitted to the City Council for final approval, according to a release issued by the Office of the Mayor.

SEE ALSO: Newmark’s Debt and Structured Finance Team Hires JLL’s Tyler Dumon
Bill de Blasio.
Bill de Blasio.

Powers of the BSA include granting “zoning variances, special permits and review appeals to determinations by the Department of Buildings,” the release further stated. The LPC is responsible for protecting buildings and sites through landmark or historic district designations.

Ms. Perlmutter is a partner at Bryan Cave LLP and a member of the firm’s Land Use Practice Group, according to the release. She has close to 20 years experience as an architect.

The two nominations for the LPC follow the rescinding of one previously made, Marcie Kesner, the New York Observer previously reported. Ms. Kesner works at law firm Kramer Levin and has many clients “with business before the city.”

Mr. Baron works as a strategic planning and design advisor and consultant for public and private sector clients, and recently held the position of executive director of the non-profit Van Alen Institute. Mr. Gustafsson is the chairman of the Board of the Historic House Trust of New York City, and is a retired attorney with 20 years of legal practice.