WX to Honor Marjorie Tsang as Woman of the Year


Marjorie Tsang of the New York State Common Retirement Fund is to be honored by WX New York Women Executives in Real Estate as Woman of the Year. A long-time member of the association, Ms. Tsang previously served on the WX board of directors and aided in the development of the association’s scholarship initiative.

SEE ALSO: Digital Commercial Brokerage SquareFoot Raises $7M in Series A

“It is truly a humbling experience,” Ms Tsang told The Commercial Observer of her nomination. “What clicks immediately is the cause, which is to support the scholarship program that WX has championed.”

Ms. Tsang
Ms. Tsang

Ms. Tsang will be honored at the 2013 Woman of the Year Gala, to be held November 21 at the University Club.

With over 25 years of real estate experience focused on pension fund investments, joint ventures and structured investment vehicles, Ms. Tsang has worked in partnership with some of the most prominent names in real estate, including Boston PropertiesHines and Taconic Investment Partners. Previously, Ms. Tsang was named by PERE as one of the 10 most influential women in private real estate investing.

Ms. Tsang has been with the New York Common Retirement Fund since 1993 and served as assistant comptroller for real estate investments from 1999 to 2011. From September 2011 until August 2012, Ms. Tsang acted as interim chief investment officer for the pension fund. Currently, she serves as director of strategic research and solutions for capital markets, long-term and tactical investment strategies, and the development of new asset classes.

During her time as a member of the board of directors at WX, Ms. Tsang helped to establish a scholarship initiative for New York schools, including Baruch CollegeColumbia University and New York University. To date, the scholarship has provided over $750,000 in scholarships to women in real estate. Ms. Tsang chaired WX’s the scholarship committee in 2002, when the organization’s budget was just $26,000. At that time, scholarships for just six students could be supported, while today, the scholarship committee awards close to $150,000 in scholarships for 31 students.